Canadian Realestate Magazine forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Brokerage: New Ontario housing plan a negative for investors

Notify me of new replies via email
Justin da Rosa | 21 Apr 2017, 12:41 PM Agree 0
Ontario’s new “Fair Housing Plan” is a positive for local residents, according to one industry player, but it could squeeze investors out of Toronto’s hot housing market
  • Jen | 21 Apr 2017, 01:30 PM Agree 0
    I don't think we should be making apologies to wealthy foreign investors. Government's job is to represent the average Canadian. If this puts even one more Ontario family into a home, rented or owned, or helps an Ontario investor to build wealth, we should be happy.
  • | 21 Apr 2017, 03:03 PM Agree 1
    The article does not make reference to "foreign" investors at any point.

In my experience (I am a Realtor in the Toronto market), the vast majority of these investors are local investors from the GTA. This is exactly the issue I have with the policy announcement from yesterday. Policy cannot be created on hunches, but facts and stats. When question as to what percentage of bidding wars are won by foreign investors, the Ontario Finance Minister had no answer, and frankly no numbers to cite. Is it 3% or 40%? This is vital before any policy is introduced. The timing of this plan reeks of a struggling party hoping to stay in power. Also, remember that foreigners cannot cast a vote, so this is a purely political move.