Canadian Realestate Magazine forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Newbie wants to invest

Notify me of new replies via email
Mike410 | 22 Sep 2015, 04:29 PM Agree 0
Hi there,

I'm interested in buying a rental property, like a duplex and living in one unit while renting the other. I'm new to the real estate world and have never owned a property.
I am in my early 30s so would be looking at building up a portfolio over time.
What are some recommendations on how to start, where to look for information, best way of finding properties etc. I'm eager to learn, any advice would be appreciated.
  • davida | 16 Oct 2015, 01:51 PM Agree 0
    Find a REALTOR in your area who deals with investment properties. He/she should be able to help you find suitable properties, show you what they are renting for, advise you on other costs you will incur and introduce you to a good mortgage broker who also specializes in investment properties to help you get financing. Once you finalize the sale they should help you rent it and be there for you if you have any problems. Good luck, wish I had started investing when I was in my 30s!
    • anonymous | 05 Dec 2015, 10:17 AM Agree 0
      How old are you now?
  • | 17 Oct 2015, 11:38 AM Agree 0
    I have several rentals that are doing well I'd be happy to let you in on some simple strategies (depending what city you're looking in)
  • CSL | 15 Nov 2015, 10:32 PM Agree 0
    Looks like you're looking at rental properties. Are you interested at all in wholesaling... buying a contract? I find rehab properties for real estate investors. I locate and wholesale to said investors. At this present time I have a suitable lead on a two family semi in the Nork York area with a potential net profit of $60K.

• Patrick B. | 25 Nov 2015, 03:43 PM Agree 0

Can you tell me more about wholesaling? How does it work exactly and what would I actually own and be responsible for?