Canadian Realestate Magazine forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Ontario hints at measures to cool real estate market in the budget

Notify me of new replies via email
Canadian Realestate Magazine | 27 Mar 2017, 02:50 PM Agree 0
Finance Minister Charles Sousa says the upcoming spring budget will include a package of measures dealing with housing affordability
  • Aldo8226 | 27 Mar 2017, 03:22 PM Agree 0
    There is no point in shackling and clubbing to death Canadian Citizens who invest in Real Estate. The whole mess is due to foreign buyers as discovered in Vancouver. Wake up Sousa!
    • Lex Rajah | 17 Apr 2017, 03:15 PM Agree 0
      I'm a REALTOR in Vancouver. Foreign buyers, as per government data, were only 3%. Rest were local buyers.
  • David | 27 Mar 2017, 04:03 PM Agree 0
    This is nothing but an excuse for the liberal govt to add more tax dollars that they can waste.
  • Mkimbe2 | 27 Mar 2017, 05:09 PM Agree 0
    Why not just elimate all Chinese "investment" ( money laundrying).
  • Tracey | 27 Mar 2017, 05:24 PM Agree 1
    Housing is not affordable to 1st time Buyers because;

1) the stress test knocked many 1st time Buyers out the market
    2) increase in CMHC insurance premiums
    3) decrease from 40 year amortization to 35, then, 30, then 25 (equivalent to a 3% interest rate hike)
    4) another increase in insurance premiums
    5) double land transfer tax

and yet they point at finger at speculators who did not cause the increasing prices, speculators responded to it. Canada's immigration policies have led to the shortage of inventory. Foreign investment also did not cause low inventory! Here's a solution...fire all economists because they are oblivious to market forces.
    • Bonnie | 27 Mar 2017, 06:45 PM Agree 0
      Well said Tracey.
    • | 28 Mar 2017, 03:52 PM Agree 0